MOE Releases New List Of Set Books.


MOE Releases New List Of Set Books.

The ministry of education releases a new list of set books in fashion and literature to be used by Form threes in April when the new academic year begins.

This means that the Form Three students will have to buy new English literature and Kiswahili fasihi set books.

The Ministry of Education has informed secondary school principals that it has approved new set books to be studied by form threes as from April when the new year according to the current school calendar begins.

In a circular sent to secondary school heads, theBasic Education PS Julius Jwan said that the books will be examined for the next five years.

“This is to inform you that the final phase of change of set books for literature in English and fasihi ya Kiswahili for secondary schools for the period 2022-2026 has been finalised,” said Dr Jwan in the circular signed by the director of quality assurance and standards, Dr Mary Gakuru.

The current set of books has been used in schools since 2017.

The new compulsory set book for literature in English will be Fathers of Nations by Paul B. Vitta published by the Oxford University Press while the play will be The Samaritan taken from Play From the Rest of the World by John Lara and published by the Kenya Literature Bureau.

The new set of books will replace The Blossoms of the Savannah by Henry Ole Kulet and A Doll’s House written by Henry Ibsen.

English literature optional set books are the novel An Artist of the Floating World by Kazuo Ishiguro and published by Longhorn Publishers, an anthology of short stories,  A silence song and other stories edited by Godwin Siundu and the optional play, A parliament of Owls by Adipo Sidang published by the East African Educational Publishers.

The optional books will replace The Pearl by John Steinbeck, The Memories we Lost by Chris Wanjala published by Moran (East Africa) publishers and The Inheritance by David Mulwa published by the Longhorn publishers.

For Fasihi ya Kiswahili, the new compulsory set books include Bembea by Dr Timothy Moriasi published by Access Publishers, short stories will be Mapambazuko ya Machweo a Hadithi Nyingine published by Mountaintop publishers while compulsory play will be Nguu za Jadi by Prof Clara Momanyi published by Queenex publishers.

The new set books are replacing the Kigogo by Pauline Kea Kyovi published by Story Moja, Tumbo Lisiloshiba a Hadithi Nyingine by Alfa Chokocho a Dumu Kayanda published by Longhorn Publishers and optional play Chozi la Heri by Assumpta K. Matei published by One Planet.

Schools will start handling the compulsory novels and short stories set books from April to 2026, while the compulsory play and optional play set books will commence in January 2023 to 2026.

KICD approval

“The commencing and lapsing year implies that the Form Three class of the given year are the first and last to study the particular book respectively,” said Dr Jwan.Top Benefits Of Education.

The PS said the books were all approved by the Kenya Institute of Curriculum Development (KICD) last year.

The books also have a security tag which when scratched reveals a 16 digit number.

“When the number is sent by SMS to 22,776, you will receive a message confirming whether the copy is genuine or pirated. This is an important security measure aimed at ensuring that schools, parents and students have genuine copies with the correct content,” said Dr Jwan. Ministry of Education releases new set books for 2022-2026

You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.